Friday, October 23, 2009

More Trivia: Top Women's Awards

More trivia, this time on the women's side.

Name the only players to win the women's version of Player of the Year twice.

Name the only three coaches to be the conference's Coach of the Year five times, and name three others who have won that award at least three times.

Answers ...

- The only two-time women's Player of the Year winners are Marist's Rachele Fitz, Siena's Gunta Basko and Melanie Halker, and Manhattan's Sheila Tighe.

Fitz, though, could become the first three-time award winner. Now entering her senior season she has won the award the past two years.

- The five-time Coach of the Year winners include Siena's Gina Castelli, who is still in charge of that program; and Dianne Nolan, formerly at Fairfield; and, Mike Granelli, formerly at Saint Peter's.

- Other multiple winners of the top coaching award are current Marist coach Brian Giorgis (four times), and retirees former Niagara coach Brill Agronin (three times) and former La Salle coach John Miller (three times).

Miller and Giorgi are the only coaches to gain the award in three consecutive seasons. Miller won it in 1987, '88 and '89. Giorgis won it in 2004, '05 and '06.

No comments: