Friday, October 23, 2009

Trivia Time: Name Top MAAC Coaches

A few posts back we identified the 13 players to have been named to as a MAAC first-team post-season all star on three occasions.

Now, we'll ask (and will identify) if you know the only coach in the conference history to be named Coach of the Year three times.

(Note: We'll give some credit for this question/answer to Peter Morton, a friend who is the co-proprietor of the Ocean Woods Resort in Kennebunkport, Me. Peter is a former college assistant coach at Delaware many years ago, and is one of my favorite college hoops conversationalists).

Also ... do you know the only two coaches to win that honor in back-to-back seasons?

And ... do you know what five coaches have been honored at least twice?


- Former Saint Peter's coach Ted Fiore is the only three-time Coach of the Year honoree, having been named in 1987, in 1989 (co-coach with Speedy Morris of La Salle) and 1991.

- The two only two coaches to win the award in back-to-back seasons are Iona's Tim Welsh, 1997 and 1998; and, Speedy Morris of La Salle, 1988 and 1989.

- The only two-time winners are Fiore, Morris, Welsh, Niagara's Joe Mihalich and Bobby Gonzalez of Manhattan.

NEXT UP: Trivia time for the women.

No comments: